MOVIE REVIEWS

based on 2 reviews

Share your thoughts. We appreciate it!

 

RAGNAROK HAS ARRIVED (AND IT’S A BLAST) Read More

 

As with Marvel properties, third time's the charm. The God of Thunder is back and mightier than ever in Thor: Ragnarok, now playing in theaters. Read More

 

Looks like another Thor film but this one looks different. It will be interesting to see what the mostly comedic writer/director of The Hunt for the Wilderpeople, a much different film, does directing this. Read More

 

Thor, played by Chris Hemsworth, is made to fight as a gladiator for the evil Grandmaster's amusement. Read More

By Justin Lopez November 15, 2019

Too bad. I loved the first two Thor movies and was expecting that the third one will hold up to the quality of the first two. But I guess today it's really hard to pull off a trilogy that'll ring throughout the years like how the Wachowskis did with the Matrix.

By LoganWright November 15, 2019

Marvel films are known for sneaking humor in between action sequences, but I don't know what they did with this one. The choreography was lame and I don't understand why Thor felt like he was trying too hard to be funny.

By BradleyStewart November 15, 2019

Despite all the hate surrounding this movie, I actually enjoyed it. If you're as big of a fan of "Thor" like me, then you pretty much just like everything that comes out with him on it.

By Jane Hall November 15, 2019

Thor's character is great with the other Avengers, but he just doesn't do that well as a stand-alone character with his own storyline. It's sad because he had so much potential too.

By JessieCollins November 15, 2019

Story could've been great but it seemed to me that the writers got lazy with the script and just opted to feed Thor some cheesy humor that made him seem like this kid who was trying too hard to be funny instead of the GOD of Thunder the first two films built him up to be.

By John Smith November 15, 2019

I'm a big fan of Thor but I just couldn't bring myself to like what they did to him in this film. I get that he's going through tough times but turning him from being a thundering, huge god to a man-child who shoots lightning is such an insult to Thor.

By Myles April 12, 2019

This movie sets a new bar for the MCU. It's funny, entertaining and VERY fun. It takes a completely different yet good turn from the past 2 movies and is a colourful blast.

By tmdb44006625 March 15, 2019

From minute one, Thor Ragnarok bursts onto the screen with a new found energy, style, Jeff Goldblum, beautiful use of colours and shot compositions, an amazing 80s inspired music score, and comedy that's actually funny. Somehow, Thor Ragnarok is both the darkest film in the entire MCU given that it deals with the destruction of an entire world, and the most lighthearted.

Thor Ragnarok is very much a Taika Waititi film that uses Marvel lore and characters. It has many shocking twists, turns, witty comedy, and pleasant re-introductions (and introductions) to some of the MCU's best characters that I can't wait to see more of. Oh, and did I mention this movie has Jeff Goldblum?!

By Movie Queen41 November 13, 2017

The Best CBM movie of 2017

The film is one of the most entertaining of the MCU films so far and a HUGE improvement over Thor: The Dark World. Cate Blanchett as the villainess Hela, the Goddess of Death, is a far better villain that TDW's lame Malekith. Kat Dennings' annoying Darcy and Natalie Portman's bland Jane are not missed at all. Instead, we get Tessa Thompson's badass Valkyrie, who can hold her own in a fight and isn't just there just as a love interest for Thor (Chris Hemsworth). Jeff Goldblum is hilarious as Grandmaster, who runs the gladiator fights on the planet Sakaar. But the real pleasure of the movie is watching the love-hate brother relationship between Thor and his adoptive brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston). The relationship between the two men was the only redeeming feature of TDW, and it's great to see it expanded in this movie. Also great is seeing Thor buddy up with Bruce Banner/ Hulk (Mark Ruffalo). The only thing I didn't like about the movie was the fate of The Warriors Three. They deserved better than that. But otherwise, it's a great comic book movie.

By Gimly October 26, 2017

_Ragnarok_ is a tough one to review completely without spoiler, so I'll keep this brief:

* I was bothered by a small number of things that happened in this movie.
* I was in love with a large number of things that happened in this movie.
* _Thor: Ragnarok_ is not the MCU's best movie.
* _Thor: Ragnarok_ is the MCU's most fun movie.
* Can we **please** have a worldwide ban on putting anything that happens in the third act of your movie, in said movie's trailers?
Thank you for your time. 4 stars.


_Final rating:★★★★ - Very strong appeal. A personal favourite._